My lesson for today

….is that blogging on the day before I leave for Honduras is a little unrealistic.  Not only because I’m so busy with last minute things (as I eat my first meal of the day at 4:00 while writing this), but because every time I try to think of a good story to tell or an important topic to discuss I’m flooded with “I’m going to see Edgar in two days!!”  or “Where’s my passport again?” Let’s just say I’m a little distracted…and excited.

I’m distracted by my need for Mary Poppin’s magic bag.

I WILL fit all of this in.  Now if only I could make it all weigh just a little less.

I’m excited to see Julio Cesar’s new artwork in Villa Soleada.

You know how sometimes you get someone you care about stuck in your head and you don’t know why?  This guy’s been on my mind a lot.  I can’t wait to hear how his art classes are going.  And I can’t wait to see if he’s finished the mural he was working on in January.

I’m preparing to give Edgar a lecture for running away.

Doesn’t he look like he needs a good lecture?

I’m longing for this view.

Lauren and I will be going to Canchias for a few days for a vision casting/brainstorming/leadership development/spiritual preparation retreat.  It will be a few days surrounded by the simple beauty of Honduras.  And hopefully it’ll be a time of solidifying our purpose and mission and getting an even clearer direction.

Since I don’t have a team this trip, I’m hoping for a lot of this.

My absolute favorite times in Honduras are when I can have good one-on-one conversations with the kids.  Girlfriends, time on the street, hopes for the future, pet peeves about the present.  I cherish these times and feel honored by their willingness to be vulnerable.

And I KNOW I’ll experience lots of this.

Ay, yay, yay I can’t wait.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My lesson for today

  1. Jen Behary

    Have a great trip!! Can’t wait to hear the stories and see the pictures!

Leave a Reply

