Celebrating the Cinco de Mayo Celebration

Non-profits have fundraisers.  The Children’s Home Project is a non-profit.  Ergo, The Children’s Home Project should have a fundraiser.

Gulp.

At the end of last year, a planning committee was formed.  We set goals.  We worked our arses off.

And in the back of my mind I honestly expected to fall short.  But I knew we’d be ok.  It was our first fundraiser.  I was told by a friend that the first few years of fundraisers need to be seen as ‘friend’raisers as they are unlikely to actually generate any revenue.  We would do the best we possibly could, learn from our mistakes, do better next year and keep on truckin.

Imagine my surprise when we

surpassed

every 

goal.

(I felt that that sentence needed to be constructed in a creative way to ensure that you got the full gist…)

Today’s post is a celebration of abundance.

tchp-01

The decorations were gorgeous.

tchp-30

We surpassed our goal of 100 people with a whopping 103.

tchp-26

We had more silent auction items than we could handle. (This is one of EIGHT tables!)

tchp-72

Thankfully some people were more than happy to take lots off of our hands.

tchp-18

We had more than a dozen volunteers from Desert Vista High School.  These kids…they worked hard and happy all evening long.  I think my favorite moment was when I walked into the kitchen and overheard one say to the other “This event is pretty cool.” A teenager thinks we’re cool!! Victory!

tchp-19

Incredible food donated by Los Taquitos.  (Really wishing I had eaten lunch.  I’m seriously considering putting this writing thing on hold and running over there real quick.)

Be right back.

……..

Moldiv_1401402867705

And there’s no way any of this could have been accomplished without these guys.  (This fiercely independent only child is learning the beauty of teamwork.  I know, I know, I’m learning this a bit late.)

Thank you to everyone who came and supported our first major event.  (And thank you to everyone who couldn’t be there, but supported from afar!)

It’s officially official.  This will be a yearly event.

May 2nd, 2015.  Have you put it in your calendar yet?

tchp-9336

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Celebrating the Cinco de Mayo Celebration

Leave a Reply

